New OOC Video

The third video in the Out of Character video series has been posted. (The previous two videos are also available online for viewing; I shared my own response to them here.) This time, it asked its interviewees “what makes a good LARP character?” The responses are quite interesting. They mention that every LARPer has their own ideas on what a good character is, which I agree with, but there are also some pretty distinct trends and themes that get repeated throughout.

For context, the interviewees are primarily speaking about characters for theater one-shots that are pre-written by the LARP’s writer(s), possibly with input from the players, but most commonly, without any input. Of course, much of what they say applies to any LARP character, whether the LARP is a one shot or a campaign, theater or boffer, pre-writter by the writing staff or created by the player.

Personally, I’m still chewing over my own answer to this rather broad question. What makes a good LARP character for me? Certainly, I could repeat the wisdom shared in the videos, but if I had to come up with something more specific…? Hm. Topic for a future post, perhaps.

The text in the video reminds me that these were shot about a year ago at last year’s NELCO. I’m hoping this year’s NELCO, coming up in just under a week and half, will produce some videos to share online as well, but plans for that are still up in the air. My fingers are crossed.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in blogs, media, theater/parlor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New OOC Video

  1. Stephen Kohler says:

    I ended up coming up with two core concepts: one or more Wants (often represented as Goals) and one or more Conflicts (internal or external, and often directly related to the Wants) I have trouble coming up with a character that could be written without either of those. (At least, one that would be a *character*, and not just a thought experiment) There’s plenty more I like to see in *my* characters (reasonably well-defined backstories that justify Wants and Conflicts, mechanics of some kind to work within, interesting personality traits, etc.), but without those two things, I’m hard-pressed to see how you can have a real LARP character at all.

    • Fair Escape says:

      I feel like it’s a very broad, vague question that prompts broad vague answers — just like asking what makes a good character in any medium. I think your answer of Wants and Conflicts is a good one, and could apply to any medium.

      I could parrot a lot of what was already said, or try to come up with something more specific, which would be more about my tastes and less about what is universally true. Like… “is somehow not exactly what they appear to be.”

Leave a Reply

