Time Bubble 2014 Schedule

The schedule for Time Bubble, one of the free weekend of short theater LARPs at RPI in Troy NY, has just released its schedule. This year, it’s taking place from Friday, September 26th to Sunday, September 28th. There are 11 LARPs on the schedule, and, new for Time Bubble/Dice Bubble, there are also two panels on the schedule, as well as a part on Saturday evening. Unfortunately, the scheduling means that I have to miss most of the event, if not all.

I think the inclusion of panels could potentially be an exciting shift for this mini convention that creates more flexibility in its programming. I wonder if the change will be permanent. If they go over well and there’s interest in more, I might consider bidding one of the panels I’ve been part of at NELCO or PreCon for a future event. One is non-LARP related, the other seems to involve running some of the 10 Bad LARPs and using them as teaching tools. (The 10 Bad series, by the way, is a collection of the worst ideas ever come up with for LARPs — all of them quite offensive, hilarious, or both, put together by Alleged Entertainment.) The presenter, by the way, used to be a prolific LARP GM before retiring from LARPing to run a gaming store. Can’t say I’m not disappointed to be missing this rare chance to acquire some LARP running wisdom.

For those thinking of going, or those who are debating their options and don’t know what to pick first, here is my usual run down of what I know about the LARPs on the schedule.

The Other, Other All Batman LARP — this is a popular LARP at Intercon that has run a large number of times (and is already on the list of LARPs that will be running at Intercon O in March of 2015.) I played this LARP at my first Intercon. I played Kato from the Green Hornet show, and had an absolute blast being incredibly confused both in and out of character for the whole LARP. It’s incredibly funny, chock full of slapstick humor, and I highly recommend it if you ever enjoyed the 1960s Batman tv show featuring Adam West and Burt Ward. I think it really captures the spirit of the show quite well. I would personally happily play again, given the chance.

Together Again I played this LARP this past spring at the last Dice Bubble, and it’s extremely difficult to explain without spoiling. All I can say is pretty much what I said right after I played it — it’s about friends reconnecting after being apart from some time (set in a generic modern Western setting) and it was a really unique experience. It’s not my usual genre, but I’m definitely glad I got a chance to play.

Only Might Guests — I have played this, but it was a really long time ago, and to be honest, my memory of it is a bit fuzzy. I recall that it was a light hearted LARP that played with a bunch of anime tropes. I think I played a Magical Girl, and there were silly mechanics involving food. A good choice for people who like silly LARPs and are big anime fans.

I haven’t played any of the other LARPs, but I do know that This Time for Sure: Boris Badenov’s Gulag for Unrepentant Children was written by the BYOG program at the most recent NELCO. The characters are all trouble makers from pop culture cartoons and comics, like Calvin of Calvin and Hobbes, the titular character of Dennis the Menace, and Bart Simpsons of The Simpsons. Personally, if I were to sign up for this LARP, I would really love to play Alvin the Chipmunk, who played a significant role in my childhood. It’s pretty rare for a middle child (like me) to be the star of the show. I used to carry an Alvin doll around.

Then again, the other two LARPs running on Sunday both sound quite interesting, so if I do make it to the event on Sunday, I don’t think I can make a wrong choice.

Remember — the first round of sign ups open this Friday, Aug. 29, at 6:30pm. You can sign up for your first game then, your second game on Saturday, Aug. 30, at 6:30 pm, and as many as you like on Sunday, Aug. 31, at 6:30 pm.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

