Intercon O Roster

It’s open season on Intercon O sign-ups — after three weeks of signing up for one LARP per week, con goers can now sign up for as many LARPs as they can fit into their schedule. We’re nearing cap for attendees, but we still have rooms left in every time slot for LARPs. Definitely not too late to send in your bid!

Here’s what I’ll be playing at Intercon O!

On Friday evening, I’ll be playing in Resonance. It’s a sci-fi world-is-ending amnesia LARP (a good way to lighten your pre-Intercon prep time, by the way, is to sign up for LARPs where all characters start with amnesia… there are generally no reading materials prior to game start.) I’ve heard good things about this LARP, and the casting structure (players are cast retroactively during the game, depending on various in-game decisions they make) intrigues me.

Saturday Morning: Stop That Moon! I think this might be the LARP I’m most excited for. I know the writers are really enthusiastic about the genre (classic comic book superheroes), and I’m really happy to see more boffer at Intercon. Especially boffers that combine elements more common of theater LARPing, like pre-written, interconnected characters. I’m very excited to be LARPing with Stop That Moon!‘s cast of players.

Saturday Afternoon: The Tattered Veil. Huge soft spot for fae, and this sounds like a really flavorful LARP, with a really cool sounding list of characters, which all adds up to excellent costuming opportunities.

Saturday Evening: Victim’s Ball. For a while, I was dithering between this and NPCing for Rabbit Run again, because I had so much fun NPCing for it last year. But it sounds like they have a number of new NPCs this year (out of last years cast of PCs), and I feel somewhat invested in Victim’s Ball, as I’m one of the people who talked up Intercon to the writer/GM at Origins. (And it’s not well above minimum, though I’m sure it will get more sign ups as time goes on.) I know the short character sheets and large gap between minimum and maximum players make some Interconners wary, but the wonderfully inappropriate combination of decadence and the macabre set just after the French Revolution is quite appealing. (I think the title is a good sign.)

Earlier Sunday Morning: I debated about finally letting myself sleep in and get a bit more time to pack on Sunday for once, but then couldn’t resist G. I. Joe: Orbit. I’ve had so much fun with this series, PCing at Intercon M and NPCing at Intercon N, that I had to sign up for this one. Crossing my fingers for Snake Eyes again. YO JOE!

Later Sunday Morning: Interplanetary Federation: The Cadet Years. This slot was kind of a toss up between a number of fun sounding choices, and I enjoyed the high simulation aspect of the Artemis system last time I tried it.

Only six LARPs feels lighter than I originally expected for O… but to be fair, two of them are running an hour longer than usual. And I’ll get to attend the dance this year. I’m very excited about my line up.

With regards to PreCon — I’ve volunteered to help out with the Accelerant tutorial. I think that’s going to be a lot of fun and hopefully some players will find it useful. I also bid a workshop for making banners, like the ones I made for Venezia and Cracks in the Orb, materials provided (in fact, I already found the materials at the dollar store) but it seems like there may be zero interest in this. And there are plenty of panels and workshops on the website that sound like fun to attend. I guess I will see how PreCon works out.

Already working on my first questionnaire (been watching Justice League episodes for inspiration for responses for Stop That Moon!)… So where are my other questionnaires, already? I’m eager to get started on costuming…

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, Intercon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Intercon O Roster

  1. Nat Budin says:

    I hope you enjoy Resonance!

Leave a Reply

