Intercon O Post Event Report: Part II — Friday of PreCon

On Friday morning, I arrived too late for the first hour of panels (bummer, I’d meant to ask for help repairing to costume pieces at the “Useful Handsewing Techniques for Larps” workshop. I did catch the end of “‘Family Tree’: History of LARP” which involved a round table discussion of the various communities of LARP and how they interact with one another historically. (My contribution to the conversation was mentioning HRSFA.) If you’re interesting in contributing to the research on the history of LARPs in the US, there is a survey to fill out online here. There is definitely more than four hours worth of discussion about this topic to be had.

I next attended a presentation, “Intellectual Property Issues in Game Design,” which was presented by a (no longer practicing) lawyer who had focused on these topics in law school. I’d go so far as to say this was one of the best events at PreCon or NELCO I’d ever been to — it was very interesting, well organized by someone unusually well educated on the subject, and it’s a topic about which a lot of people are confused and/or have erroneous assumptions.

We got into the history of copyright and patents, how they work and what they apply to, the differences between them, and how it all relates to LARP. We even learned a bit about the patent filed on a LARP for children that was filed in 2002. If the presentation becomes available online, I’ll be sure to share a link here.

My last panel of PreCon for Intercon O was “How to do a Small Weekend Games Writing Workshop”. Three presenters talked about Peaky LARP Writing Workshops Weekends, both the original in the UK and the Midwest version, and the BYOG that runs at NELCO. Maybe NEIL should try hosting one in addition to the BYOG.

There were a slew of cool panels after that last one, but I had a LARP that ran over the next four hours. If anyone has any notes or thoughts to share from them, or has links to any powerpoint presentations, please share below!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, panels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

