NELCO 2014 Continued: Videos

The videos from NELCO 2014 are becoming available online! The first four are already up on the LARP Out of Character blog.

The first is a video of Jeff Diewald’s LARP Writing 101 presentation, which serves as the introduction to the Build Your Own Game (or BYOG) program. So far, we’ve had three two-hour theater LARPs come out of this program which runs at NELCO.

The second is the video of the When Boffer and Theater Collide panel, which features myself and two other LARPers who are both boffer and theater enthusiasts. (The LARPer on the far right is also the con chair of Intercon O, NELCO 2012 and NELCO 2013.)

The panel seems to have generated some positive response, which is really nice, and I do still intend to write a longer post about the panel and the topic in general, so for now, I will just say that rewatching it, I realize we slipped into stereotypes of boffer LARPers and theater LARPers a few times and I regret that.

The third video is of a presentation called “What Live Action Roleplaying Games Do Well”, and this is one I didn’t personally attend (I was at the “Latex LARP Weapon Making” workshop) so I was very glad to be able to watch it in its entirety on video.

The fourth currently available video from NELCO 2014 was the “Stuffing: Making Sure the LARP You Wrote is the LARP They Get” presentation, which is not only useful for preparing a LARP to run, but also provides some insights into what GMs want and need when running a LARP that has been written (and “boxed”) by someone else. The descriptions and advice are particularly applicable to large, complex LARPs, such as weekend long theater LARPs for, say, 60 to 90 players.

There have also been a number of new interviews from the original LARP Out of Character project released, which you can find here.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in blogs, media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

