A Second LARP Forum

Though I still have a fair amount of work on costuming to do for the first weekend event of Fifth Gate, I took time out this evening to attend a second LARP Forum. The first was in January of 2014. Much like the first, a variety of local LARPs and LARP related organizations got together in the function hall of a local Irish social club to meet other LARPers from around New England and learn about all the cool things running in our region. There was a lot of buzz this year about FourTwenty, a year- long campaign theater LARP that just recently came to an exciting conclusion.

NEIL hosted a table this time around, so in honor of next year’s Intercon theme, I threw on a basic pirate costume. (No one else wore anything costume-ish. In all honesty, I think I just wanted another excuse to wear a tricorn hat.) I spent most of the time wandering from table to table to admire the neat props and photos from events people had to share. I also spent a bit of time at the NEIL table, eagerly telling anyone who was willing to listen about NELCO, the New England LARP Conference. The fourth NELCO is coming up this July, and I’m happy to say we’re likely going to see a bunch of new faces.

There was also another raffle. Most of the prizes were free membership to an event run by one of the LARPs hosting a table at the Forum. (Sadly, I didn’t win any.) Intercon got a cheer when we got up to mention it and raffle off free membership to NELCO 2015.

A full list of the organizations that hosted tables can be found here. Below is my summary of what I learned from the tables I visited in my circuit of the room.

My Forum swag — lots of fliers and cards.

Shadows of Amun is the Accelerant campaign in which the PCs started in WWI-era Egypt, then traveled back to the time of the crusades, and then again to 30BC. If you’ve ever wanted to meet Cleopatra, this would be the LARP to play.

Their table featured coins from Cleopatra’s Egypt.

Nexus is a relatively game and in many ways a classic fantasy, but unlike any other fantasy world I’ve LARPed in, it has no humans!

The LARP Adventure Program runs programming for youth. The staff is one of the rare examples of a group of people for whom LARPing is a professional career.

The photogenic Steve helped man their table.

Witchwood is a fantasy LARP that runs at a campsite affectionately known as “Camp Stairmaster” for its infamous steep hill (it has other, less flattering nicknames.) A number of my friends play in this LARP and have great things to say about it.

Witchwood‘s table display represented their cosmology.

Xeph Ink is a vendor with an Etsy shop full of neat costuming and tapestries. They also host the incredibly useful New England LARP calendar. (They also have a LARP blog.)

Draconis runs one-shot boffer weekend LARPs several times a year that follows a “Dungeons and Dragons, standing up” model, in which people sign up in small groups. Their next event is in August. One of these days, I’ll sign up for a run with some friends. (Anyone want to join me?)

Steam and Cinders is a steampunk LARP that recently underwent a reboot. They had some of the coolest props to share at their table.

A nerf gun with a gorgeous weathering and paint job from Steam and Cinders.

Second Dawn is a post-post-apocalyptic LARP. Their bartering system sounded particularly cool.

Also, at the LARP Forum, I learned about LARP-a-Palooza, and event running at Ye Olde Commons over the first weekend of July. It will be hosting modules from a slew of local LARPs, along with vendors, tabletop games, and more. I think NEIL is likely to host a table to let more people know about NELCO, which will be two weeks after that. I’m hoping to attend, I think it sounds like a blast.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Second LARP Forum

  1. Stephen Kohler says:

    “Also, at the LARP Forum, I learned about LARP-a-Palooza, and event running at Ye Olde Commons over the first weekend of July…. I think NEIL is likely to host a table to let more people know about NELCO, which will be two weeks after that.”

    Wait, does that mean NELCO has an official date? That would be good to know, for the purpose of making plans and such.

  2. gaylord500 says:

    Considering going to Second Dawn, at least to take a look around.

  3. Pingback: NELCO 2016 Part I – Fair Escape

Leave a Reply

