Coming to Roost

In Fifth Gate: Silverfire, the new LARP I am now playing in, the PCs have the option of organizing into warbands, and most PCs started in a warband going into the first event. My character, Cricket, belongs to a large warband called the Eyrie. In order to help foster a stronger sense of camaraderie among its members, the Eyrie decided to hold an RP day — basically a day of hanging out in-character — and use it as a chance to let our characters get to know one another better.

This past Sunday, we joined in on an afternoon High Tea event, sitting at our own table in costume to sample different tea blends, enjoy a light meal, and discuss the events of our first weekend Fifth Gate event. After High Tea, we went outside to lounge. We set up a pop-up tent, then spread out some carpets and big pillows underneath it. In the shade of the tent, we made spell packets (“fletched arrows”) and tried out some thematically appropriate arts ‘n crafts. The melee fighters sparred, and the ranged fighters had some target practice. We also discussed inducting a new member and debated which subgroup of the Eyrie he should join.

One character’s pet hanging out with the Eyrie.

I took this as an opportunity to wear some new costuming for my character. I recently decided Cricket needed long, elegant earrings in silver and blue tones (the colors of the Eyrie… unfortunately, the colors of another group in Fifth Gate: Silverfire as well…) but I couldn’t find any online that were quite what I had in mind, so I decided to try my hand at making them. A few months ago, I received a basic jewelry making kit as a gift and hadn’t yet used it. I watched some youtube video tutorials and read some websites about the basics online, then bought materials at Michael’s. I picked eternal knot charms and blue and white porcelain-like beads to reflect the Asian influence in Cricket’s Order.

Cricket’s earrings

I think they turned out to match Cricket’s costume quite well.

I also wore a new tunic in Cricket’s color scheme — it was designed to wear as a cover-up on the beach, so the material is extremely light, which makes it great for sweaty boffer practice on warm days. (Not that Cricket sweats, of course. She merely glows.)

New tunic

For the arts ‘n crafts, I bought some origami paper and we all tried making a few flowers and animals and boxes. I also brought some compact mirrors and nail polish to paint them with. Cricket likes to always carry daintily painted pretty mirrors on her.

The Eyrie’s attempts at origami

Cricket’s painted mirrors

Our little RP event was quite successful for me; I already feel like the Eyrie feels like a more tight knit group. We’ve already got a second RP day planned.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming to Roost

  1. Pingback: The Eyrie Goes to the Beach | Fair Escape

  2. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne 2015 | Fair Escape

Leave a Reply

