Ghost Light/Scale

I’ve just come back from another trip to New York City, where I played my last LARP of 2015. Ghost Light (also occasionally called Scale), a small, cyberpunk theater game, ran in a private apartment for seven LARPers, some long time LARPers, others new to the hobby. I played a gutter-punk who has gotten caught distributing pirated media and faces rather dire consequences in this setting.

IMG_2986

At the Grand Guignol

We had a last minute drop an hour or so before the LARP began, but fortunately, someone who had played it before stepped in to fill in the vacant role and pulled off the character’s elegant and intimidating nature very well.

IMG_2988

Ghost Light deals heavily with the low life, distorted economy, and rampant social injustice aspects of the cyberpunk genre (and to a lesser degree, the technological side of it), and uses them to explore themes of the value of art, recreation, and family, as well as sacrifice in the name of one’s beliefs. I always enjoy roleplaying through a difficult, personal decision in LARP, and I think every character in Ghost Light revolves around one or more impossible choices. I really liked my character, but I suspect I could have enjoyed any of the seven roles.

IMG_2990

Interestingly, all seven characters in Ghost Light are gender neutral, and each player is welcome to choose their character’s gender. All of the character sheets are written as though the characters are all female, which is an unusual manner of handling gender neutrality in character sheets, but I thought it worked quite well — I never noticed any confusion during gameplay.

Ghost Light is running again at Intercon P — already full, of course. I’m really glad to see a darker, more serious LARP on the schedule for Sunday, which is usually full of lighter, sillier LARPs. There are good reasons for lighter LARPs on the last day of a convention (who gets sufficient sleep at these things?) but it’s always good to have variety.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in LARP Reviews, theater and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ghost Light/Scale

  1. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne 2015 | Fair Escape

Leave a Reply

