Intercon P-rep

My goal for Intercon this year is to not have any projects left to do for Intercon as of the time I go to sleep Tuesday night before PreCon (outside of packing).

To that end, I started the first of my Intercon projects several weeks ago, and last week I stepped things up a bit.

1. Pirate flags for Devil to Pay.

I made a bunch of pirate flags for the first run of Devil to Pay a few years ago, using my go-to method of iron-on adhesive. This stuff tends to slowly peel up over time, and can easily be ironed right back down, but I decided to go over all of the… devices? Charges? Emblems? Badges? with simple stitching so that they won’t need to be re-ironed. It took awhile, going around each of the skulls and swords and bones, but at least it was pretty easy, and it’s entirely finished. Sadly, one foot and one patella on Edward Low’s red skeleton have gone missing; I guess I will replace them if I happen to remember to pick up more red cotton during my next trip to the fabric store.

IMG_0016

Hoist the Jolly Roger!

(I just learned a new word by the way, vexillology.)

When one of the DtP GMs, commented about hanging up the flags from a pop-up tent with duct tape, I felt compelled to volunteer to add some way to string them up and took the flags back home. I might stick grommets in them, or maybe just sew ribbons to their corners. Either way, it will be more secure (and prettier) than duct tape.

I’ve also spray painted a bunch of new East India Trading Company boxes for Devil to Pay‘s scenery.

2. Costuming for The Always Waltz

My Saturday evening LARP at Intercon is a horror/romance set in the Napoleonic era. Costuming from the Rococo to the Victoria eras are appropriate, and should be as close to “decadent masquerade as possible” with masks being mandatory. (These costuming guidelines in the blurb were a huge draw for me… this LARP was my first round pick.) I originally thought I might wear the deep red ballgown I wore to the Cottington Woods fairy ball, but when I got my character hint, I changed my mind. So I tried on all of the various dresses I’ve acquired over years of LARPing, and settled on one I found on clearance and thought would be good for LARPing ($5) but have yet to wear. It has a knee-length skirt, which just will not do for a decadent masquerade, so I picked up some fabric in a matching color and a simple pattern and sewed a floor length skirt for it. I also made a simple wrap.

Honestly, I don’t love the skirt, and I tried to do a french seam on the wrap which came out very poorly… but I think they suffice. (I will probably redo the seam on the wrap, but it’s low on the priority list right now.) Maybe if I find another use for the dress after Intercon, I will redo the skirt, this time with much more volume.

I also made myself a mask and a wreath to wear. They took a few hours of hot gluing. It was my first time making a wreath — I followed a basic online tutorial found through pinterest. Actually, I made myself two masks — the first turned out to be too big, so I made a second, smaller one. And now I can happily say this costume is complete.

3. Costuming for Congress of Vienna

Congress of Vienna is my Saturday afternoon LARP, and as the title implies, it takes place at the political conference in 1815. I couldn’t find a costume I liked for sale, so I picked up some fabric and a pattern at Jo-ann’s Black Friday sale. In retrospect, I wish I had waited — the fabric felt particularly unsuited for my Alwayz Waltz character, otherwise I could killed two Regency era birds with one stone.

The pattern is not particularly advanced, but it is the most advanced thing I’ve ever sewn without help, and I’m currently regretting my choice. I could have gone with something much easier. I thought including an overlay would be simple, but it’s proving beyond my skill level, and despite the rather modest appearance of the model on the cover, I think I’m going to have to improvise a modesty panel for the bodice.

4. Posters for Intercon

I’ve volunteered to provide the posters again this year. I’ve finished about seven so far. I just love coloring with markers.

20160127_232037 (1)

Pirate imagery galore.

5. Costuming for G.I. Joe: Pirates

In previous years, I’ve played Snake Eyes the ninja in the G.I. Joe LARPs, but this year, I was cast as the Baroness. I have developed a distinct fondness for Snake Eyes, but the Baroness seems like a fun character, too, and I can wear my glasses as part of the costume. I’m just going to wear solid black for this LARP, with a Cobra Command sticker on my shirt.

And as far as crafting projects go, that’s about it for this year. For my other LARPs, I’ll just be pulling old stuff out of my closet (generic pirate gear for NPCing in the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, black stuff and whatever I can scrounge up that lights up for Syncretism, and something a Star Wars fan might wear for Reunions.) For non-crafting stuff, I still have a little prep work to do for PreCon panels and discussions, and I still need to write a letter from the NEIL president for the con booklet.  I suspect not many people actually read those things but… those that do, what might they want to hear?

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, costuming, Intercon, LARP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

