Intercon Q Part IV: Stop That Moon! and Burning Orchid

For my Saturday afternoon LARP at Intercon Q, I NPCed for one of the boffer LARPs, Stop That Moon!

img_20170226_223343

I PCed for the first run of Stop That Moon! back at Intercon O, and had a ton of fun playing Mach III, a speedster-type of superhero, on a mission to take down a supervillain’s base on the moon. The next year, at Intercon P, I recorded a short video as Mach III that played in-game for a few of the players in the second run. Much of the basic premise, structure, and the mechanics of the various scenes within the LARP are the same for each run of Stop That Moon!, but the writers create a new batch of characters and villains each year. I think it’s a great way to tailor the experience so that each individual players gets to try out their favorite tropes from superhero comic books. And the writers’ passion for the genre shows clearly every year.

I’m really pleased to see that boffer LARPs have been consistently appearing at Intercon in recent years. I particularly enjoy knowing there are always opportunities for me to NPC when I don’t get into any other games in a given time slot. (Though I think Rabbit Run, a popular cyberpunk boffer game, might be hitting its upper limits on NPCs, since so many of its previous PCs come back to NPC for future years.) For people willing to crunch (playing random mooks to fight), these LARPs also offer an opportunity for people to find something to do last minute. (One of the vendors joined us when traffic past the various booths was slow.)

It’s also nice to have the variety and see the different communities blending through these games at Intercon. It draws boffer LARPers to the convention, and I know a number of the players in boffer games this year were trying it out for the first time. (And seemed to be really enjoying it, as far as I could tell.) In fact, knowing that a number of Stop That Moon!‘s players were newbies to boffer was a large part of why I wanted to NPC for it this year — I wanted to do what I could to make the experience fun for them so they’d come back for more boffer in the future.

I got to make another recording (this time just audio) as Mach III. This time, it was her talking at an interview about Mach I. Mach III is the clone of Mach II, who in turn is the clone of Mach I, an American heroine of World War II. I talked about Mach III learning about her predecessor from museum exhibits and looking up to her as an icon to be emulated.

During the LARP itself, I mostly crunched, but I also got to play one of the major villains — an opera singer called Alpine Rose, and had the supernatural ability to mind control people into fighting for her. I had a really good time playing this over-the-top character, though I bungled the mechanics a bit and I think the players had trouble hearing me at some points. (I need to learn to project, and to improvise a bit more with Accelerant mechanics like Silence.) Still, it was a highlight of the game for me. At the end of the scene, some of the players refused to let Alpine Rose be killed, so they knocked her out and took her prisoner. I was rather amused when one of the NPCs on the heroes’ side tossed Alpine Rose over her shoulder and carried her out. I would definitely NPCs Stop That Moon! again.

For costuming for Alpine Rose, I realized the outfit I had picked out for my evening LARP (a sort of retro style gown, actually my old prom dress) worked pretty well, which was lucky. I changed into it briefly for my scene as a villainess, and then again for Burning Orchid, a LARP set at a glamorous party during the Golden Age of Hollywood. It is highly spoilerable, so I won’t go into into too many details,  but I will say it was, as advertised, very much about emotional interpersonal roleplay, with complex relationships, scandalous pasts, and other adult themes. (And, I might add, my fellow players were magnificently costumed.)

Alpine Rose/a Hollywood publicist in the 1930s.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer, Intercon, LARP, LARP Reviews, theater and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

