Intercon Q Part V: Snugglebunny Apocalypse

On Sunday morning at Intercon Q, after a long night of dancing and partying, I stumbled into one of the Iron GM LARPs. It was the 11am run, not a 9 am run, but after a late Friday night of packing up the Orgia set and an even later night on Saturday night of dancing and suite parties, I was extremely groggy when I arrived at the Iron GM rooms and got assigned to play the maiden run of Snugglebunny Apocalypse, written by Team Galimatius.

img_20170226_223343

Iron GM, for those who are unfamiliar, is an annual contest run by Intercon. Sometime in the weeks leading up to Intercon, teams of writers are given various secret ingredients (a theme, a genre, an element, and a prop) and a single weekend to produce a LARP that includes those elements, to run on Sunday of Intercon. There are various other rules, such as it must be suitable for all ages, and it must be runnable with a limited set of supplies. You can find a full list of the rules here. (And there are cash prizes for the winners.)

One of the more interesting, and I think creatively challenging rules, is that the LARP must be able to run with anywhere from 5 to 12 players (inclusive). This requirement was a major contributing factor to the development of “horde LARPs” — theater LARPs where some percentage of the players play a revolving cast of small parts (examples include Time Travel Review Board and An Unconventional Odyssey). It’s fairly easy to make the cast size flexible with a horde — players can simply rotate through them faster and play more roles each if there are fewer of them.

This year, the secret ingredients were:

genre: Parallels Universes
theme: Hope or False Hope
element:Trickster animals
secret prop: 10′ foot strand of green LED lights

Sungglebunny Apocalypse is, as one might guess from the title, a rather lighthearted silly game, in which the characters are attempting to stave of the end of humanity at the fangs of the bloodthirsty snugglebunnies. (I’m sure this LARP takes inspiration from Snugglebunny Wringwraiths, a LARP that was infamously written in negative 5 minutes on napkins, and is the reason I still, years later, occasionally find small heart stickers among my LARP costuming.) Based on my willingness to wear a silly hat, I was cast as Little Sam, a small child who fails to grasp the danger and wants a snugglebunny for a pet. I spent most of the game making a massive nuisance of myself, a small children characters in silly LARPs featuring overwhelming danger tend to do.

This LARP is surprisingly spoilerable; there were some secret identity style twists in this game that I did not see coming (although, to be totally fair, my sleep-deprived grogginess may have played a factor — you’d have to ask the other players not in on the secrets to know if they were actually obvious or not.) I really liked the three snugglebunny characters — they have traits that I really enjoy in a LARP… obvious enough that’s it’s probably not a spoiler to mention here, but I won’t because it’s more fun to discover in the early moments of the LARP, and I’m sure it will run again. There was one particular snugglebunny who was played by a LARPer whose deep voice and august performance makes me unable to imagine that role played by anyone else.

I also really liked the short sketch acted out by the two GMs that opened the LARP and explained the origin of the eponymous threatened end of humanity.

Snugglebunny Apocalypse came in second place, by the way.

And that was my last LARP of Intercon Q! I hear Tales of the Cradle ran on Sunday afternoon or evening, since so many LARPers got stranded at the hotel thanks to the second snowstorm. The odds of another blizzard extending the stay of many attendees again isn’t high (though given our typical dates and location, it’s not that low, either) but there is a decently sized contingent that stays late on Sunday (some until Monday morning), to socialize with LARPers they see no more than few times a year. I think there’s a market for LARPs later on Sunday, and I know there’s a least on team of GMs planning on proposing a LARP for Intercon R to run Sunday afternoon, after closing ceremonies. (Our contract with the hotel gives us the rooms until Sunday night, after all.) I really hope this catches on so I can keep on LARPing on Sunday. More LARP is best LARP!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, Intercon, LARP, LARP Reviews, theater and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Intercon Q Part V: Snugglebunny Apocalypse

  1. mnemex says:

    I really liked Snugglebunny, but yeah…surprisingly spoilerable! (also, IIRC you were in my run, right? Wasn’t the (ugh) 9AM run the maiden run? Although were were much closer to having a full cast).

    I think Iron GM may have resulted in more horde games, but I think both the concept and the institution predated the format, although the essence may not be wrong. The first horde game (prior to the invention of the term) was Busses Welcome — which was a “Build your own” game at Intercon 10.5. Admittedly, a BYOG slot does need to be somewhat flexible, as you don’t know how many players you’ll have on Sunday when the game finally runs, but there’s no such “5-12 players” rule; instead you write whatever you can agree to write and run for whomever shows up–with some expectation that you’ll get around 15 players or so (well, for the old MD Intercons; for the newer BYOGs we’re lucky if we can get 10 players). I know that the (I no longer remember the name, but it’s findable) paranoia game by Rebecca Kletnicks (going by her maiden name at the time) and some others was labelled a horde game at some earliish Intercon. looking at Intercon C, I’ll note that Panel, the Larp describes itself as “not exactly a Horde game”.

    • Fair Escape says:

      You are correct, I forgot there was a 9am maiden run.

      Sorry, I didn’t mean “contributed to their development” to imply Iron GM rule about 5 to 12 players directly gave rise to the first horde LARP, I just meant… more or less what you said, that it resulted an increase in number and popularity and probably encouraging GMs to experiment with the structure.

      • mnemex says:

        Oh, yeah, totally — and I hadn’t realized that the first horde larp -was- a BYOG game, since I wasn’t always compos mentis by sunday morning at the old MD Intercons to make it to a larp, Sleep the Larp being such an attractive alternative, so I’d missed that one.

Leave a Reply

