A LARP Filled November

Just wanted to share a quick update on the various LARP projects and events I have going on now, while various longer blog posts are being finished.

This past weekend, I was NPCing for Madrigal 3. (And a couple weeks prior to that, I reprised my old Cottington Woods character, Quill, at one of the Tales from the Cotting House weekends.)

Madrigal was a ton of fun — it’s one of the LARPs where I know I can reliably get a wide variety of roles, including recurring face roles, one-off face roles, and lieutenants, (along side so much crunching, I came home from the weekend very tired and sore, but in a good way.) To clarify, “face roles” describes a role where the emphasis is on roleplaying and talking to the PCs, rather than fighting them. “Lieutenants” describes combat roles where there are lots of small minions on the field (aka “crunchies”), but there’s also a small number (maybe between one and five, depending on the size of the battle) combatants who are more powerful/dangerous, sometimes because they outrank the crunchies in some way.

I don’t think I’ve ever played a lieutenant role before, in part because they often go to the more talented boffer fighters, especially ones who can handle getting mobbed by PCs better. I find it very difficult to remember my abilities and keep track of what effects the PCs are landing on me when three or more of them are attacking at once, and as relevant as these skills are for crunchies, they’re that much more so for lieutenants. But I gave it a go as a vampire among cultists at Madrigal 3, and I think I surprised myself by doing better than I expected. It’s actually a really nice feeling. I feel as though, going forward, I could try this again and increase the variety of roles I play when NPCing.

One of the one-off face roles was a lot of fun — an evil wizard on trial, who tried to spring a trap as their sentence was announced. I had a lot of fun snarling at the PCs and refusing to express remorse, and then taking up the role of the boss in a small combat. In a recurring role, I attended their masquerade ball, where, in between political and personal conversations, I tried to make a point of asking PCs to dance with me. I’ve attended a few boffer campaign balls, and often wished the staff would send out NPCs to ensure the PCs who want to dance had the opportunity. (I feel it’s a little easier to ask people to dance as a NPC — it feels as though there’s more “alibi” in a brief role handed to you by staff in that role than in a campaign character you write for yourself.)

Besides Madrigal, I have a Threshold event coming up. (I was torn between the next Threshold event and attending the first After Dark weekend event, but the Threshold one just worked out far better with other travel plans for a number of reasons. That weekend also happens to be SLAW, which has some amazing games this year, and a really cool sci-fi LARP set on a real ship that I would have loved to NPC… maybe next year!) I do have some costuming upgrade projects for Threshold, but I think they’re going to have to sit on the back-burner for now.

And then right after that… I’m finally fulfilling one of the biggest items on my LARP Bucket List… I’ll be LARPing in another country at England’s LARP convention, Consequences! I’m signed up for six games, and I’m beyond excited.

Technically, I could pull all of the costuming I need for Consequences out of my closet, but there happened to be a sewing pattern sale at Jo-ann Fabrics this week, so of course I now have a few sewing projects in progress. (And a crafting project — I’m going to re-attempt dragon horns for a fantasy LARP.)

The week after that is the final Fifth Gate event, where the Champions of Silverfire and the Survivors of Wrathborn will come together for the last time… but only one of our worlds can be saved. I have enough costuming for my archer character, Cricket, but Jo-ann Fabrics released some new Asian-inspired cotton prints earlier this year and they were so beautiful, I couldn’t resist. (It doesn’t help that my character is a bit of a diva.) So I’ve started working on a new pair of blue ombre hakama pants, and if I have time, Cricket will have a new top as well.


There’s a 50% chance Cricket’s entire world will fall to Ruin, but she’ll be well dressed for its End, I suppose.

I’ve also currently in the midst of meetings for the Living Games Conference, Game Wrap (we finally have a release date for Volume II), a little bit of Izgon: Ascendency (though I won’t be actually playing, as it’s running over the Fifth Gate weekend,) and Intercon R sign-ups! We’ve just had round two of sign-ups, so the community is abuzz with conversations with who is signing up for what. Sadly, I seem to be having poor luck this year (I’m wait-listed for two LARPs, in part because of the accidental early sign-ups just before round one…) but I’m at the top of the wait-lists, so fingers crossed!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer, conventions, costuming, Intercon, LARP, theater and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A LARP Filled November

  1. Lise says:

    Wait, you’re coming to Consequences, too? How did I not know this?? Matt and I will be there, as usual, lodging with Kim and Dave. Excited to see you there!

    • Fair Escape says:

      Wait… did I seriously not tell you? I could have sworn… maybe I only told Matt? Maybe I just assumed?? I know the others know, because we’ve talked about costuming.

      Ok! Well, super exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

